Bihar cops bag gallantry honours

Patna: IG-cum-special secretary (home) Sunil Kumar became the most decorated IPS officer of Bihar with the Centre honouring him with the President’s Medal for Distinguished Services on the eve of 64th Independence Day.

A 1987 batch IPS officer, Sunil Kumar was earlier honoured twice with the Police Medal for Gallantry, once Police Medal for Meritorious Services and yet another Police Medal for Internal Security. No officer in the state is decorated with so many medals by the Government of India. Among other posts, Sunil served as senior SP, Patna and DIG, Central range.

Others who got President’s Medal for Distinguished Services a day before the Independence day this year are ADG (BMP) A C Verma and Sergeant Major, Patna, R K Jha.

Those who got Police Medal for Gallantry are two DSPs Vivekanand and Ramakant, besides SI Nikhil Kumar and two constables Dipak and Randhir Kumar Singh. ADG (HQs) Rajyabardhan Sharma said that these police personnel got gallantry medal for their exemplary work in the recovery of Jharkhand-based businessman Vishwanath Garg and his driver on July 31, 2007, from Kankerbagh. During the operations a criminal was killed and four arrested with weapons. He further said that SI Sanjiv Kumar and constable Nagendra Ram have also been given gallantry medal for killing three Maoists, including Vishwa Dayal Manjhi, in East Champaran district on November 17, 2008.

Police personnel who got Indian Police Medal for Meritorious Services are: DIG (Dehri) S M Khopade, SP (Saharsa) Mohd Rehman, SP (special security guards) Bijay Kumar Verma, Sergeant Major (traffic) Suresh Kumar, DSP (vigilance) Maharaja Kanishka Kumar, inspector (CID) Rakesh Kumar Brahmachari, SI (IG office, Patna) Vinod Kumar Tiwari, Havildar (CID) Arjun Ram and Havildar (BMP-14) Uday Ram. Constables who got this medal are Ejaz Ahmed (special branch), Dinesh Paswan and Ashok Kumar Singh (both IG office) and Vishwanath Rai (vigilance).


Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>