Bihar to get 16,000MW power by 2020: Minister

PATNA: The state government is working hard to provide electricity to everyone by 2015. Chief minister Nitish Kumar has already announced that he would not seek votes if his government failed to improve power scenario in the state, energy minister Bijendra Prasad Yadav told the state assembly on Monday.

He said by 2015, the state will get 5300MW from various sources, which will be more than its consumption.

Replying to the debate on his department’s budgetary demand of Rs 4350.65 crore, he said after mission 2015, the government has also set mission 2020 to receive over 16,000MW power, including 4000MW from central sector. The house passed the demand after rejecting the cut motion of Jyoti Rashmi (independent) and others. The RJD members staged a walkout during the minister’s reply.

Since power is in the concurrent list, the minister stressed on importance of generation, transmission, distribution, connection and collection and said the state is constantly fighting with the Centre for its rights but the latter’s attitude was apathetic. He also referred to the all-party delegation led by Nitish that met the prime minister over a year ago for coal linkage to the thermal power plants. He said the state was getting only 1100MW per day from central sector against the allocation of 1834MW and it was purchasing 200MW from open market.

Yadav said a new thermal power station of 1980MW is being set up with a cost of Rs 15,132 crore at Nabinagar under the joint venture of Bihar State Power (Holding) Company Limited and NTPC. The power generation will start in 2016-17 and Bihar will get 1373.50MW electricity. From its stage-II, the state will receive 75% of the 1980MW. An agreement with Essar Power Limited and GMR Kamalanga Energy Limited has been inked under which the state will purchase 750MW and 260MW, respectively, which will be supplied by the end of 2015. Bihar will get 85% power from the proposed 1320MW Greenfield power station at Chausa, he said.

The minister informed the house that modernization and renovation work on two Barauni units of 220MW each and two units at Muzaffarpur of the same capacity will be completed by the year end. These units have been renovated at a total cost of Rs1053 crore received under Rashtriya Sam Vikas Yojna.

Under the state plan, two units of Barauni thermal power station, of 500MW and two units of 195MW have been expanded at a cost of Rs 3666 crore and Rs 3345 crore, respectively. The minister said work is in progress and is expected to be completed by 2014-15.

Yadav said seven transformer repairing workshops (TRWs) are functioning at Patna, Muzaffarpur, Darbhanga, Gaya, Bhagalpur, Katihar and Saharsa for the repair of burned transformers and 700 transformers are repaired every month. Thirteen more TRWs will be set up at a cost of Rs 41 crore.

About the revenue collection, Yadav said during 2011-12, the government earned on an average of Rs 222.42 crore per month which has increased to Rs 252.37 crore till 2012-13 (January).

Source: The Times of India

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>