HRD to honour Bihari talents

Patna: Bihar’s HRD department will honour bright students, teachers and young scientists during its three-day- ‘Shiksha Diwas’ celebration at Gandhi Maidan commencing Friday.

Around 2,000 participants, including students and teachers of government schools and literacy volunteers, would showcase their talent and receive award at the state-level function. The theme of this year’s celebrations is ‘Quality Education’.

Celebrating the birth anniversary function of the country’s first education minister, HRD department will give away ‘Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Shiksha Puraskar’ to three government school teachers for their outstanding contribution in the field of literacy.

These teachers are Ram Pari Devi (Araria), Pushpa Kumari (Nawada) and Yasmeen Bano (Banka).

Besides, the department would confer Bihar Gaurav awards on 13 students who have topped in various national and state-level examinations. “The first three selected students would get an award of Rs 1 lakh each,” Nikunj Prakash Narayan, deputy director, HRD, told TOI.

Siddharth Bhardwaj from Buxar would get Rs 1 lakh award for getting first rank in ICAR examination. Another winner is Saket Kumar from Begusarai, for getting first rank in NDA and naval academy examinations. The third winner is Ravi Shankar Kumar from Arwal for getting first rank in the examination for APP.

A Bihar-based trust for the promotion of science and mathematics – Inspiration – would also felicitate as many as four young scientists in four age groups with ‘National young scientist award’. “Out of 18 shortlisted young scientists, four would be selected for the award on the basis of their project,” said Ekansh, founder of the trust.

These young scientists would get winter internship of two months at either Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangaluru, or GB Pant Institute of Himalayan Environment and Development, Almora and Itanagar.

The function would be divided into four pavilions – for teachers, students, mass education and ‘Inspiration’. At the mass education pavilion, the HRD department will be organizing training and orientation programme for 16 key resource persons (KRPs) from each of the 38 districts of the state.

“Under the CM Akshar Anchal Yojana, in 2009 the state government had chosen KRPs in all districts of the state. They included teachers, professors and literacy workers who were working in their respective districts under this Yojana,” said Sanjay Kumar Kundan, assistant director, mass education, HRD.

KRPs would also take part in sketching, experience writing and creativity contest. HRD department will showcase three movies, including ‘Katha Madhopur ki’ by Prakash Jha, and ‘Itihas ke panno pe Bihar’ and ‘Patliputra to Patna’, both by Girish Ranjan, for KRPs. For students, the department will be organizing essay writing and quiz contests, Microsoft will hold computer-related gaming contests at ‘Shiksha Diwas’, and experts from various fields would also give career counselling to intermediate students,” said Sarita Singh, consultant, HRD.

There would be various quiz contests for teachers. They would also present their teacher learning material (TLM) and top ten TLM would be awarded. The department has also arranged spoken English classes for teachers.

The department is simultaneously organizing a six-day-long national science exhibition commencing from Friday. Besides, National Book Trust (NBT), Delhi is coming up with a nine-day-long book fair from November 11.

Accommodation for the participants has been arranged by the HRD department at seven government schools of the city.

“The special attractions at ‘Shiksha Diwas’ would be folk singers and dancers from various parts of the state who would enthrall the audience every evening,” said Deepak Kumar Singh, deputy director, Sanskrit, HRD. He added that these artists have been shortlisted by the cultural committee of HRD on the basis of their performances.

Source: TOI

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>