Teachers’ Day: CM launches programme to improve education quality

PATNA: Several educational and cultural organizations on Monday celebrated Teachers’ Day in different parts of the city.

At the main function, CM Nitish Kumar launched the ‘Samjhe Seekhe Gunwatta’ (understand-learn quality) programme in all the districts of Bihar.

Under this programme, an eight-minute documentary focusing on how to improve quality education for the students in the state would be screened in all the schools in the districts. A sapling would also be planted in the districts.

The programme was organized by the state HRD department at the S K Memorial Hall. The CM said that the main theme, ‘Samjhe Seekhe’, would now become a stepping stone for the growth of education in the state.” He also promised to introduce B.Ed course at all the affiliated colleges.

The CM said “Our goal is to stop the migration of our children to other states for quality education. For this we have made arrangements at pre-school levels at various Anganbari centers across the state. The children are given free books and school uniform and are encouraged to stay in school by offering various programmes that keep them interested in education.”

He said that he would also ensure that each school has at least one Urdu and one Sanskrit teacher. He also said that he would promote learning of English at all levels.

On the occasion, Nitish also honoured eight teachers of primary and middle schools for their rich contribution in the field of teaching. He also released a newspaper, ‘Khabar Lehariya’, focusing on women-related issues, published by an NGO, ‘Mahila Samakhya’.

Deputy CM Sushil Kumar Modi in his speech said that in the year 2011-2012, the state government has allotted a fund of Rs 10,000 crore for promoting primary, secondary and higher education in the state. He also said, “more than Rs 3,000 crore is been allotted for the development of educational system under ‘Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan’ in the state.”

Modi also said that after distributing more than 35 lakh cycles to girl students, Bihar has become the first state for distributing maximum number of cycles in the country.

Cimage and SPICMACAY jointly organized a performance of Rajasthani folk singer Bhutte Khan Manganiar with an aim to popularize cultural traits among the students. Students also gave dance performance and performed a skit on ‘Importance of Teacher in Changing Life of a Student.’

Magadha Mahila College also celebrated Teachers’ Day with cultural programmes, including a hilarious skit on ‘Importance of Education’, and various competitions. Pankhuri, BBA-II, won the painting competition while Anukampa Kumari, History-III emerged as a winner of essay competition. The winner of slogan competition was Swati Rai, a second year history student.

On the occasion, Rotary Club of Patna South president Rajesh Kumar distributed teacher’s appreciation certificate to the teachers of College of Commerce.

Teachers’ Day was also celebrated at Patna Women’s College, where students entertained the teachers with a cultural programme. While Inner Wheel Club of Patna celebrated the day at JM Institute of Speech and Hearing with physically challenged students. The Club also honoured as many as 11 teachers on the occasion. State Bank of India, Rajvanshi Nagar donated fans to JD Balika Uchch Vidyalaya, Adaltganj on the occasion.


Secondary school teachers

1.Richa Sinha, Jawaharlal Nehru Smarak Uchch Vidyalaya, Gulab Ghat, Purnia.

2.Jogendra Singh, Rajkiyakrit Inter Vidyalaya, Ara, Bhojpur.

3.Ram Sharan Mehta, Kalakand Uchch Vidyalaya, Garh, Banaily Purnia.

Primary School teachers

1.Pushpa Malti Devi, Madhya Vidyalaya, Parwalpur, Nalanda.

2.Obaidur Rehman, Rajkiya Parvati Kanya Madhya Vidyalaya, Ram Nagar, West Champaran.

3.Gopal Prasad, Rajkiya Utkramit Madhya Vidyalaya, Adapur, Bara, Maheri, East Champaran.

4.Ravindra Kumar Sinha, Rajkiya Madhya Vidyala Hindu Orphanage, West Champaran.

5.Vinay Kumar Pandey, Rajkiya Utkramit Madhya Vidyalaya, Gaira, Kotva, East Champaran.

District education officers (DEO).

1.Deo Sheel, DEO, Nalanda.

2.M Das, DEO, Patna.

3.Harihar Nath Jha, DEO, West Champaran.

Source: TOI

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>